Daily Prompt: Linger

Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

iStock_000017371550Small-570x379

An event is often thought of as something like a wedding, or a concert – a big occasion.  In fact, the definition of an event is this:

A thing that happens or takes place, especially one of importance

I’ve been a nighthawk all my life, staying up to party, finish a book, complete a piece of work or just goof off.  For most of that time, I was not much of an early bird, I liked to sleep as long as possible, then dash off to work or whatever appointment I had at the time.

These days,  even if I stay up late, I wake up early, sometimes around 4:00 am.  I believe it’s a symptom of age.  Through the winter months, this is something of a pain, but as spring comes and the sky brightens, I really enjoy waking up in time to see the sun rise through my bedroom window, while the Baskerville Beasties come to give me their sleepy greetings. 

There is nothing finer, as far as I am concerned, than to wake up slowly, allow the sun to warm the garden and then take time for a leisurely coffee out there before taking the dogs for a stroll while the only sounds are the birds calling and maybe the milkman beginning his rounds.  There is a sense of peace, of time retrieved, that just isn’t available at other times of the day.

When it’s time to get ready to leave for work, it can be really and truly difficult to wrench myself out this idyll and trundle back into the “real” world.

Daily Prompt: Linger – Picture found on Michael Hyatt’s page

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Linger”

  1. You cannot believe how lucky you are to have, STILL !, a milkman doing his rounds, Deirdre ! In Oz I believe we would’ve lost our last local milkman when I was around … oh, say – 15? And that was in Perth, one of the last strongholds of suburbia. Mind you, perhaps there are still some in the country towns …

    1. Good God! What do dogs in Oz do for entertainment in the mornings? Chloe’s lifetime ambition is to get a double-whammy – the postman and the milkman on the same morning. Both of them hop over the nearest wall whenever they see us coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

