Share Your World 2014–Week 9

Happy-House-smallCee’s questions this week are all about your dream house, real or imagined.  

Would you prefer a reading nook or an art, craft, photography studio?

I’d actually like to have a room that covers all bases.  Depending on the season, I like to write, draw, paint, play PC games, read, work out databases or spread-sheets, or consult the Great Oracle Google, on whatever topic I’m interested in.  Generally I refer to whatever room is serving at the time as my “office”. 

I’ve made attempts at this in Baskerville Manor because, being the last man standing in the old family home, I can use any room I want to. However, none of the rooms are very large, so I haven’t yet managed a successful arrangement that accommodates books, a comfy place to read, workspace, and room for the Baskerville Beasties to spread out around me in comfort. 

Another  factor that prevents me from settling on one room as the ideal spot is how the house is oriented – on an East (back) and West (front) line.  I really like to be in a room that lets in the sun. During the week, the west-facing rooms are better because I am at work all day, but at weekends, it is so nice to be in an east-facing room in the morning. But then there is the attic which has skylights…. decisions, decisions….

However, as I am a inveterate furniture shifter, I can engage in endless happy hours of amusement pulling desks, chairs, beds, sofas, shelves and accoutrements from one place to another. I do this at the turn of every season.  In fact, as I am writing this post, there’s a corner of my mind already planning the next re-arrangement session.

Would you prefer the TV in the living room or another room?

I like to have the TV on in the background. I rarely sit and watch one show all the way through, just keep one eye/ear on whatever is running as I get on with whatever else I am up to, so it suits me to have a small TV in the living room, the bedroom, the kitchen and whatever room I’ve got set up as what I loosely refer to as my “office”.   This allows me to ignore the same TV show in every room as I drag the rest of the furniture around. Smile

What color would you like your bedroom to be?

My bedroom is mainly blue, which is the colour I want it to be.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

You may have already realised from the above,that for me, a one-floor house would be very acceptable.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

The evenings are getting brighter and the clocks will go back one hour next weekend which means I will be able to get home from work while it is still daylight.

Share Your World  2014 – Week 9 – Photo from Ottowa Life

4 thoughts on “Share Your World 2014–Week 9”

Leave a Reply

