Daily Prompt: Careless Whispers

sa8120It happens: sometimes that filter in our head bursts and we say too much of what we’re thinking and someone gets hurt. Tell us about a time you or someone you know said something that they immediately regretted.

This topic brings me back to one of my favourite (or least favourite, depending on how you look at it) themes – phone calls in the workplace. 

I wrote on this subject a little while back, in Daily Prompt:  Truth or Dare, where I gave some examples of the kind of response a hapless phone operator would like to have given to some awkward callers.

Today I’ve got a story from when I was very young.  Picture the scene – my boss, already late for an appointment, pauses on his way out to give some last-minute instructions for something that has to happen straight away.  I’ve just picked up a call from a client who is a rather cranky, garrulous old lady.

Struggling with the antiquated switchboard and caught in the crossfire between boss’s rather stressed  directives and her high-pitched demands to speak to him immediately if not sooner, I manage to figure out he wants me to tell her he has already left, and to remind him to call her in the morning.

My mouth translates this into “He’s not here, but he says to tell you he’ll call you tomorrow….”

Doh.

Daily Prompt:  Careless Whisper – Picture of the switchboard I operated back then from British Telephones

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Careless Whispers”

  1. Pingback: The Wandering Poet
    1. HIya! They are all extremely busy working on their snoozing skills – except for Mr Kit-Kat who is in front of the TV with a notebook, paying very close attention to “My Cat From Hell”. I’m bracing myself for when he puts his new learning into practice 🙂

      1. INFURIATING! – I can watch a few seconds over one minute, and then the videos freeze. They don’t want to be being watched all the way down here, for some reason. Happens to me all the time with stuff on the BBC sites. 😦

      2. There is some friction between the Baskerville Beasties when The Dog Whisperer or It’s Me or the Dog are showing – and there’s a practically a riot when the fish want to see Tanked or Fish Tank Kings..

Leave a Reply

