Daily Prompt: Shake it Up

diazepam5mg-bar (2)You’re 12 years old. It’s your birthday. Write for ten minutes on that memory. GO.

December: Went carol singing with our guitars.  People paid us to NOT sing.  Birthday money allowed me to acquire  Lola vs Powerman and the Moneygoround. Serious crush on Dave Davies (which continues to this day)

Favourite TV Shows

  • Star Trek
  • Doomwatch
  • Hall’s Pictorial Weekly
  • The Partridge Family
  • The Goodies
  • Dr Who

Favourite songs of the year

  • The Kinks:  Lola
  • Edison Lighthouse: Love grows where my Rosemary goes
  • Beatles: Let it Be
  • Free: Alright now
  • Creedence Clearwater Revival: Up around the bend

My birthday is two weeks before Christmas.  That year I was this weird mixture of a rock lovin kid  with a cigarette habit who had sneaked into the cinema to see Midnight Cowboy because I loved the song, but didn’t understand most of the plot, while at the same time trying to maintain a belief in Santa Claus in case my dad was disappointed.

I passed the time writing Star Trek fan fiction and watching TV shows that were supposed to be “over my head”. My mum (along with many of my school friend’s mothers) had begun her long affair with the “mother’s little helpers” which doctors prescribed so freely, and we used to trade them between us. I remember 10 valium being worth a librium, or something like that.

Daily Prompt: Shake it Up – Picture from RXlist

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Shake it Up”

  1. Mine is 2 weeks after Christmas and that Rosemary songs begs to be mocked. I’m sure my brother and I mocked it. Fun post! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

