Daily Prompt: Nothin’ but a good time

2012-12-09 14.31.50Imagine that tomorrow, all of your duties and obligations evaporate for the day. You get the day all to yourself, to do anything you please. What types of fun activities would make your day?

Actually, tomorrow is Saturday so I do have the day off to myself and I can do anything I please. One of the advantages of being unencumbered by spouse or children, once I have some time off, I can always please myself – and I love it. So no need to imagine, I just have to plan.

All week I have been looking forward to waking up on Saturday morning with the knowledge that I don’t have to be anywhere at a particular time. Unless, of course, I have chosen to do something that has to be scheduled. Oddly enough, although I am very much a nighthawk, I tend to wake up before the alarm on my days off.  Mainly so I can switch it off and turn over to go back to sleep, if I want to.

If the weather is good, I’ll  let the cats engage in a backyard safari while I head to the local park with the dogs. On the way we will inspect all the trees, lamp posts and gateways,  then schmooze with the other early dogs and their people.  We will return to indulge in a leisurely breakfast for all.  If it’s a bad day, the dogs and I will pile up on the bed or the couch to watch whatever is running on Animal Planet, or maybe a move, while the cats snooze on the bookshelfs or on top of a handy aquarium.

Good weather might tempt me out into the garden to potter about.  There’s a raft of books left behind when my niece’s family emigrated, so if it’s wet outside I’ll dig into them.  Pretty sure I’m going to do a bit of blogging too.

Lunch and dinner will depend on whether or not I am in the mood for cooking. I have been known to have doughnuts for dinner – there’s no-one here to complain if the menu is not properly balanced. The Beasties and I will go and visit their fans in the aquarium shop – they will get treats and I might spot another finny friend or two to join the gang at Baskerville Manor.

Not a very exciting day, some might think, but it’s going to be my little bit of heaven.

Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Nothin’ but a good time”

Leave a Reply

