Perspective: What changed?

The-False-Mirror

What life event most changed your perspective of the world?

Fortunately (or unfortunately) for me, I have never experienced one single event that changed my perspective of the world. I can imagine that a catastrophic accident or illness that robbed me of one of my senses, or affected my mobility could have this effect, but it would be disingenuous of me to discuss this when I am sure there are others out there who have been through something like this.

My general viewpoint has always been to take nothing at face value.  This began in childhood with long conversations with my dad where he encouraged me to question him about every single topic I could think of.  Which led to a lifetime of wanting to know the who?, what?, how?, where?, why?, when?, what’s it made of?  what if it wasn’t there? what if there was more of it or less of it? and what if?, and is there an alternative?  about anything that came to my attention.  I believe that this has served me well when it came to dealing with any reversals, and kept me grounded when I triumphed.

For me, and many other people, it’s the overall event that is called a life that has shaped my world view, e.g. all the building blocks – growing up, leaving school, first boyfriend, first time a peer died, loss of a parent, job changes and so on that inform my perceptions.  While my preferences have changed these days, for example, I would far rather be snug at home with my feet on one of the dogs on a Friday night than out on the town, the world around me is still fascinating, full of answers waiting for questions, just like it was when I interrogated dad.

NaBloPoMo February 2014 –  Picture: The False Mirror, Renee Magritte, from reneemagritte.orgRoundup

Leave a Reply

