Daily Prompt: New Sensation

meAh, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

I had a feeling of déjà vu when I saw today’s prompt and true enough, when I checked January I found my response to  Daily Prompt: Style Icon.   I ran through the gamut of my styling attempts quite thoroughly then.

I mentioned a penchant for the 20’s look à la Louise Brooks which I favoured in my early teens, and some slight inclinations to Goth (e.g. Morticia).  Looking back this evening over some old pictures, I think my favourite look is this one, taken not long after the hair I had shaved off the back of my head returned to a decent shape.   I think I spent about six weeks doing the film noire femme fatale look, then moved on to my mullet, combat boots and boiler suit combination, on the grounds that it just took too long to achieve the Max Factor every morning. 

Sometimes I’m surprised that people I knew then can recognise me these days

Daily Prompt: New Sensation

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: New Sensation”

  1. Beautiful. I have some photos like that, but, naturally, I have vampire blood in the corner of my mouth. 🙂 The biggest obstacles to compassion are selfishness, fear and lack of imagination.

Leave a Reply

