Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me

series-1a-190x300Imagine yourself at the end of your life. What sort of legacy will you leave? Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world, after you’re gone.

There is a rather introspective quality to the Daily Prompts lately.   If those that choose are reading this, could we have a little break from the selfies, please? 

Like Mostly True Ramblings, I don’t have a great desire to leave my mark on the world – imagine if we all did that? Is there not enough history for kids to learn already without adding to their burden? If it’s the legacy I leave to my nearest and dearest, they all know I’m flat broke most of the time and the best I can hope from them is the status of fond memory, and perhaps a little respect.

For the purposes of this post, I am not going to embarrass anybody I know by announcing what I would like them to think – by now, they have mostly made up their minds about me and you know how people hate being contradicted.

Being addicted to the archeology shows on National Geographic/History Channel, I have often thought about what a future archaeologist might think if they dug Baskerville Manor out of the dust.  This began when, on a visit to Saqqara, I noticed I’d lost an earring somewhere in Pepi II’s tomb. @urbanfoxe and I joked that this might cause some consternation at a later date.

Back to Baskerville Manor.  Imagine there was some disaster that froze us in time.  My bones will be found with the cremated remains of my pets (two so far, and by the way, if any family are reading this – they go with me when I take my last trip), a fossilized Seymour (the rampant Swiss cheese plant,) books, runes, tarot cards, and my collection of aquariums alongside a plethora of electronic devices, gadgets and my nephews (stalled) car rebuild project in the garden. 

I can imagine them speculating now – the cremated pets could indicate animal worship, Seymour and his companions might give the impression we had a tropical climate, the aquariums with their filtration systems might indicate periods of drought, or at least a need to purify water.  The runes hark back to older times, the car project looks like some kind of outlandish sculpture.  The future Tony Robinson and his Time Team colleagues will probably have a three entertaining days trying to figure it all out.

Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me  – Picture from Current Archaeology

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me”

Leave a Reply

