Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing

cloudIf you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

Over time I’ve had many dream jobs – as a little girl, I wanted to be a vet, until I learned that vets put dogs to sleep.  I couldn’t visualise myself doing that then, and I don’t think I could do it now (although when the time came for the Elder Statesman I was relieved that his vet didn’t have any such qualms).

Later on I wanted to be in the music business and one day in my middle twenties, I walked into the office of a band manager and told him how much he needed a PA – I got the job on the spot, and had seven great years working  in that business. But the music business isn’t the best place to be if you need any sleep, so,  in need of a good night’s rest, I decided on a change of direction. Ever since then, I can’t go to a live gig without checking out the number of bums on seats, whether the PA and lights are operating well, e.g., all the little things I was oblivious to before I took that job.

I’d always liked gardening, and I’m pretty good at making things grow, so for a whole summer I had a great time doing other people’s gardens.  But the shine wore off that as soon as the summer was over, and while I still like my garden, I have to admit that I find it a bit of a chore to look after it ever since.

I could continue on through my CV, but I finished school over forty years ago, so let’s just say I’ve never taken a job in an area that I was not interested in.  Every job I applied for was my dream job at the time, otherwise I would not have gone after it.  Over time, I learned that  taking a job doing something you love is not always the best choice – the thing you love doing can become part of a daily grind.  Far better to reserve the things you love for your free time, and take work for what it is, a means to make a living and provide you with the wherewithal to do the things you really want to do.  Of course, it helps if you like your job.

So with all that in mind, my dream job would be all about location, not occupation.  It would be in walking distance from my home, so I don’t have to waste four hours out of every day commuting, I could go home at lunch time to spend time with my beasties, and I could spend all those bus fares on something  I really want.

Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing – Picture from Bubblws

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing”

Leave a Reply

