Perspective: Problems

EntropiaudemDo you think you do a good job of keeping problems in perspective?

AND

What helps you keep thoughts in perspective so they don’t overwhelm you?

Let’s be clear from the outset, just because I think I’m doing something well, doesn’t mean everybody else agrees with me. Another thing to keep in mind is that I don’t see keeping problems in perspective as a job or task – the things I do to resolve a problem are tasks that need to be completed in order to get the job of resolving that particular problem done.

The topics for today and tomorrow are related so I am going to be lazy (or tackle the problem of available time this week to avoid being overwhelmed by thoughts of not reaching my blogging goal) by rolling my response to both prompts into this post.

In order to resolve a problem, you have to recognise it for what it is.  Then it’s necessary to figure out what needs to be done to resolve it.  On the way, you need to take into account whether or not the resolution you propose does not create another problem for you or anybody else. If it does, you must decide whether the impact of your resolution is worth the effort – e.g. creating a bigger/smaller problem. Playing Jenga demonstrates this very well.

DSCF1660

Depending on my judgement, or my state of mind at the time the problem arises, the resolution will succeed (good job, Jenga tower stays erect) or create a bigger problem (fail, tower crumbles).

DSCF1681

Which leads me to my answer to the first question:  Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

For the second question – for the most part, I find that thoughts related to a problem are most likely to be overwhelming. If I focus on tackling what I can do instead of pondering on what might happen if I do nothing, I am merely “whelmed”.

NaBloPoMo February 2014Roundup – Picture from Wikimedia Commons

3 thoughts on “Perspective: Problems”

  1. I think I kind of like problems. First, they are a challenge to remain calm and model (to whom, I don’t know) that there is no reason to fly off the handle, be negative, get stressed, etc. Second, I like the process of troubleshooting. I rarely have time for it, but sometimes we are just forced to do it. Last, whenever I have a problem and I work through it, I learn something new, and that makes it all worthwhile. So, I guess what I do is approach most problems with bliss (ha ha, that was taking it a bit too far). Cool post, as I have never really thought through this before. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

