Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

banironing

What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more?

Ironing is the one task that has absolutely no bearing on the well-being of your household. If it isn’t done, nobody will starve, no animals will be harmed, the world will continue turning.  There are plenty of other tasks that need to be done.

Why, I ask myself, should I spend another minute of the remaining score and a half of my allotted time pushing that dreary instrument of torture across my unfortunate clothes, only to gather another fine set of creases as soon as I fold and store?

Whose fabulous idea was it that clothing should be neatly pressed and trousers should have knife-edge creases? It’s just not natural – the moment you don the results of your labour of not much love, all that work is for naught – unless you stand to attention like a well-drilled cadet for the rest of the day.

For me, the only point in this make-work chore is found at the tip of the stupid, hot, heavy, steam-spitting, clunky, carpal tunnel syndrome aggravating, fabric wrecking, cable tangling waste of time and space that is an iron..

ironing_in_the_crypt_667705

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) – Pictures – Ban Ironing from Old Fashioned Susie –  Ironing in the Crypt – Toonpool

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)”

  1. Bloody hilarious!!! – and I entirely agree: ironing is one of the world’s most useless occupations. Mine used not get creased when I folded it: it got creased as I moved it around the fucking ironing board! I told Stringer I DO NOT IRON, and he laughed: having spend 2 years in the army, he was brilliant at it. However, we soon started buying non-iron shirts, and then the bloody thing was rissoled forever!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

