Perspective: Alien

220px-Spock_2267You meet an alien and need to explain to it blogging. Explain what blogging is (and what blogging means to you) without ever using the word “blog.”

Hi Mr Spock, thank you so much, I will very much enjoy living long and prospering. You want to know what I’m doing right now? OK, well it’s called writing a post.  No – a post is not always a thing that supports a fence.

Fascinating

It’s a means of communication

Spock to Enterprise …

No, not using that little bleepy thing of yours.   If I want to actually talk  to someone, I’d use this device here.. see – it’s called a mobile phone – anyway, we’re digressing.  What I’m doing could be compared to keeping a diary or journal.

Explain

You know the sort of thing, where you write down ideas, or impressions or opinions about something, tell a story, show a picture, anything…. maybe to show somebody else, maybe just for your self  –  yes, like that “Captain’s Log” thing your pal Jim is always reciting.

Captain’s log, Stardate Unknown

Actually it’s Wednesday, February 5, 2013.  When you’ve completed the post, you publish it on the internet for other people to read and comment on.

Madness has no purpose. Or reason. But it may have a goal.

I see what you mean.. well there is a goal here.  If people like what you have to say, they will follow you and maybe even share your posts with others.

Without followers, evil cannot spread.

NOOOO that’s not fair – I’m not evil, I just like writing about stuff and posting it.  I want to improve my writing, get feedback and ideas from other people, if they follow me, then I know I’m on the “write” track.  Here – sit down at my laptop and have a try

“You’re asking me to work with equipment which is hardly very far ahead of stone knives and bearskins.

There’s no need to be rude – you were the one who wanted to know what I was doing and here I am trying t explain it to you.

I have never understood the female capacity to avoid a direct answer to any question.

 

Read more Spock quotesNaBloPoMo February 2014Roundup

3 thoughts on “Perspective: Alien”

  1. Hahaha – I’ve been reading a load of NaBloPoMo posts and have to say this has been my favourite yet – funny and very different. Good job! Have you done the “Which StarTrek character are you” quiz on buzzfeed? Good luck with NaBloPoMo – it’s my first time doing it: http://www.leatherandabel.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

