Day Twenty-Six: Set up a few drafts for later

writing-tornToday’s assignment: look back over what you’ve published. What have you been most proud of? What are the common threads? Which have been most popular? Create and save at least two draft posts with ideas that come from those.

Alongside the Daily Prompt and Zero to Hero challenges, I’ve been following NaBloPoMo January 2014.  Because the list of topics are published at the beginning of the month, and they are all on a theme, I decided I would write them in batches, one week in advance, thus leaving time during the week to tackle the challenge tasks that were being posted on a daily basis. In addition, I have always been in the habit of starting little bits and pieces to use later.

Two things struck me when I started to look back over what I’ve published and at the other blogs I’ve visited in the last month:

  1. The blogroll style does not easily lend itself to organising your posts. You can use categories and tags, but even if you do remember to categorise and tag consistently, unless your reader understands whatever your system is, they may not pick up on a collection of themed posts, or a set of related posts
  2. The tone and content of my posts varies depending on my frame of mind at the time I wrote them, and the time I had available to write.

So the two draft posts arising from these exercises will be roundups of my Zero to Hero and NaBloPoMo January 2014 challenges.  To make it easier for visitors to navigate, I’ve started a sub menu which I will use to highlight posts that summarise whatever monthly challenges I engage in, and I will make them live as soon as I have completed each challenge.

For NaBloPoMo January 2014, I will link back to the relevant posts via pingback and for Zero to Hero, I’ll do it with manual links, and over the coming month, I’ll be able to see which one works best.  Just for fun, I’ll also post a poll to see if I can get some organised feedback on which format makes the most sense.

Zero to Hero – Picture from Vanseo Design –thoughts on writing a blog post

One thought on “Day Twenty-Six: Set up a few drafts for later”

Leave a Reply

