Share Your World–Week Three

share-your-world2Ooo yeay! Another challenge to add to the list.  This is another one from Cee’s Photography – she is just full of ideas and her blog is just chock full of things and stuff- I love things and stuff  Smile

So, this one is about getting to know people.   Cee poses four simple questions every week, and we just have to answer them.  The questions this week are:

In what do you find the simplest of joys?

  • Jello or Pudding? And what is your favorite flavor?
  • Is there a language you would like to learn?
  • Do you prefer juice or fruit?

In what do you find the simplest of joys?

My pets.  Three dogs, Chloe, a 14 year old Collie cross, Izzy an approximately 11 year old Old English Sheepdog, and Shiloh, an economy sized Golden Labrador aged about 10.  I’ve also got a range of fish, and last October, two cats, Mr Kit-Kat, a very formal, polite tuxedo boy and Little Jet-Black, a giddy little black chap, moved in.  Actually, Little Jet-Black is not actually black at all, more a very, very, very, extremely dark tabby, but that’s the name he arrived with and he is confused enough already, so the name stays.

I get endless fun watching the interactions between them all.  Every one of them has their own, very distinct, personality traits. I’ve been working hard to get them all to live in peace together and so far we have detente between four out of five of them – Chloe is a stubborn old lady who just wants to chase a cat – any cat. But she is beginning to realise that it’s quite exhausting charging round the house every time one of the felines moves into her eyeline and she is an old lady so I’m confident that I will see the day when they all snooze happily in the same room.  So far, the fish are all intact, but I think both cats have sore necks from watching them.

Jello or Pudding? And what is your favorite flavor?

There is a little bit of cultural confusion in this question!  It hurt typing it out because I write English English, and Cee writes American English. But it is her question so favourite and flavour will have to wait a minute.  There is another slight cultural conflict here, I know that Jello is what I would call jelly, and that Cee would call jelly jam, but I’m not sure what defines pudding in America.  For me, pudding is generally something we have at Christmas, made with a variety of fruit, Guinness, whiskey (called whisky in Scotland!), flour, eggs and beef suet.  It can also be a confection made with rice or sago, cream and sugar. Or egg-whites, apples and sponge cake mix.  Or sponge cake and treacle.  There are probably zillions of pudding types (at least a whole lot of types!).   The English often call dessert pudding – o my word, this is getting very complicated!

But to get to the point, I prefer the pudding types I described to jelly/jello, but if I have jelly/jello, I like rasberry flavor/flavour best.

Is there a language you would like to learn?

Over the years I have studied French, Spanish, Italian and German.  One of my regrets about my education is that Latin was taken off the required curriculum just before I made it into secondary school – as this is the root language of all the Romance languages, it would have made it so much easier to learn any of them.

Do you prefer juice or fruit?

Juice, every time.  Especially if there is mango in it.

Share Your World 2014 – Week 3

10 thoughts on “Share Your World–Week Three”

  1. I just want to let you know that I’m deeply distressed about Timmie. If I said “I feel your pain” it would be infuriating; but somehow I do … I feel it myself, your grief …

    1. Thank you for this. I’ve come to terms with it by telling myself he had a long life without a hard day in it, and when the time came, I had the balls to do right by him.

    1. I’m such a nerd over these things! We have a strict “be consistent” policy in work, e.g. if writing in English English, stick to that, if you opt for American spelling, don’t mix it with English spelling. I could feel the wrath of our Communications manager as I typed that post 🙂

  2. I have the confusion over English English too so the question about pudding was confusing – I wanted to put apple crumble but that is an English English pudding and, as you said, an American English dessert. I decided that pudding was referring to an Angel Delight type pud 🙂

    I wanted to learn Latin too but I just missed out as they took it off the curriculum 2 years before I got to it 😦

    1. Language can be very complicated – if I had used the Dublin expression, I would have referred to any of the above as “afters”!
      Crazy that the opportunity to study Latin was taken away from us, it’s still the language of science, why make it harder for kids.

Leave a Reply

