Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well

We all know how to do something well — write a post that teaches readers how to do something you know and/or love to do.

This is a hard one.  Yes, I know how to do a certain number of things well (don’t we all) but what, among those things, would be of interest to my fellow citizens of the blogosphere?

Would anybody like to learn how to knit? Make an Access 2007 database? Spoil dogs? Develop a skill for proscratination?  Make spaghetti carbonara in the Venetian style? (My friend from Venice told me the Venetian style is different and superior from any other. Well, he would, wouldn’t he? It’s the way his mama makes it.)

There are so many people out there, so many interests, what, if anything, do they all have in common?  Blogging, right?  So today, although I can’t claim that I know everything there is to know about blogging, I will share something I learned this month while engaging various challenges.  That something is, if you include a picture with a cute animal in it, you are going to get a whole lot of likes!  I knew already from all those who are wise in the lore of blogging that no blog post is complete without a picture that draws the eye.  I think this  story proves the case. 

While working through the Zero to Hero lessons every day, I kept an eye on my blog stats, and sure enough, every time I posted with a nice picture, the views and the likes went up.  I’ve used different types of pictures, but without even counting the responses from visitors, I was sure that if I looked into the numbers, the top rated posts would be the ones with pictures of my pets.  I did wonder whether the dogs or the cats would be more popular, and I got my answer today when WordPress kindly gave me notice that I had reached an all-time record for my blog of 36 likes in one day.

Allowing for time differences, although I got the message today, I think the likes counted were for posts I made yesterday. What did I do yesterday?  I posted two pictures of members of my fluffy family. I saw the message mid-afternoon, and, feeling the need for more love, I added a short post about this – 36 Likes in One Day.  Almost immediately, I got a really encouraging message from Michelle W at King of States, and another 4 likes to add to the pot for today, so I am feeling very loved, thank you all for your kindness!

Checking the stats for yesterday I found the most popular post was Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition, featuring my very serious, formal, kitty friend – Mr Kit-Kat, observing some nervous fish. This beat my post  Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge – Shiloh’s Snack , featuring my gorgeous large labrador Shiloh eyeing some rice-cakes, by a whopping 75%.  Does this mean that cat pictures are more popular than dog pictures? Is it because rice-cakes are not that appetising?  I’m not sure yet, so I’m throwing this out to you. Honest, modest, Shiloh is waiting anxiously by my side, hoping he hasn’t been overlooked in the rush to admire the glamorous Mr Kit-Kat. Mr Kit-Kat, on the other hand, is snoozing complacently in his little bed, pending room service being delivered by his human staff.

 

Lesson for today:  Don’t forget, a good, well-composed picture that suits the topic will bring you even more kudos. 

 

Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well – Picture from WeBit Informatika

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well”

  1. I’d pick the dog over the cat any day. Cats are camera hams. I posted a pick of my dogs once. It got a lot of “likes” too.

Leave a Reply

