Day Eighteen: Activate a social network–Zero to Hero and Beyond on Facebook

Task for today: Activate a social network.

Sheesh, I’ve had Facebook, Google+, Twitter and LinkedIn publicised ever since I opened my WordPress account.  Yesterday I clearly had an attack of precognition, because I signed up for Path – although having done so,  I don’t really see the point of it, having already got the Big Three as well as Google+ on the go, and all my friends and family are signed up to one more. Nobody I know uses Path, they can see my stuff on the other platforms, so why annoy them.  I signed up for Pinterest a couple of weeks ago, but haven’t really got the hang of it yet.

The thing is, the Publicise tool on WordPress simply allows you to publish your own posts.  If you like a blog, you can add it to your Blogroll, or links widget, or whatever, but if you want to share anything from that other blog on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn etc. it seems that you must go to each individual post to do it.  There is an app on Facebook, called Networked Blogs which my niece and I used to good effect a couple of years ago, when she was engaged in a charity fund-raiser.  This app allows you to “network” any blog, regardless of the platform. You can choose to have your favourite blogs just in your reader (which is way easier on the eye  than the WordPress reader), you can set up any blog you like to automatically “syndicate” to your Facebook/Twitter/LinkedIn, and if your friends are also members, they can “vote up” your posts in their own readers (and you can do the same in return).

As an experiment, over the next couple of days I am going to add the blogs I follow to my Networked Blogs account and syndicate them to a new Facebook page I’ve started called “Zero to Hero and Beyond”. There’s a post there about Networked Blogs, so you can join if you like, or just “like” the page.  If you add me on Networked Blogs, I promise to add you back and share you on the page.  Go on, give it a go, let’s see how it comes out.

 

 

Zero to Hero

5 thoughts on “Day Eighteen: Activate a social network–Zero to Hero and Beyond on Facebook”

Leave a Reply

