Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

ReputationI really haven’t posted enough blogs to have developed any kind of reputation in the blogosphere.  But out here in the real world, I do have at least one reputation I am very sure about.  When it comes to animals (especially dogs and lately, cats too) I am a pushover. A soft touch. Putty in their paws.

This has been the case from a very early age. My dad recognised that I put animals on the same level as people, if not higher. In an effort to get me to mind my P’s and Q’s, he decided that he would always say please, thank you and excuse me, as appropriate, when addressing our family pets.  Otherwise, he explained many years later, I would take him to task for not following the same rules he had set for me.  The end result of this is that to this day any dog in our house will generally follow commands accompanied by “please” and will take “thank you” as the highest praise when they do what they have been asked to do.

My animals like to watch the world go by, so anybody who casts a glance as they pass Baskerville Manor will see a furry face at each of three front windows (each dog has their own particular favourite snooping station), and two little feline bodies parked on a fourth windowsill – the neighbourhood kids like to call it the “doggy in the window” house.  Strolling round the locale twice a day with three and sometimes four (when Duby The Shitzu Who Thinks He’s Godzilla comes to visit) elderly dogs has earned me the title of “Doggy Lady” among said kids.  If there’s a stray dog in the area, nobody thinks of calling the dog catcher, there’s a knock on my door and the latest waif is passed into my care.

Right now, I am perched on a foldout chair bashing away on my laptop which is precariously situated on one of those fold-up side tables.  My large desk , you see, is currently occupied by a snoozy cat who looks far too comfortable to be disturbed.  The six-seater corner couch which I optimistically bought in the expectation of being able to share some space with the dogs, is fully occupied, by just two very relaxed, stretched out hounds.

What do I think about this?  Well, all I can say is that there’s no denying it –  I’m a pushover and glad to be one.

Today’s Zero to Hero assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt.

Daily Prompt:  Blogger of Repute

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute”

Leave a Reply

